"A scribble is not a is a story, a name, a word, a masterpiece."

The Early Years Foundation Stage

Play underpins the delivery of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum and we believe children learn best through practical, hands-on experiences and interactions with their environment. Play provides opportunities for children to consolidate and extend their skills, and supports physical, emotional, intellectual and social development.

"Well planned play, both indoors and outdoors, is a key way in which young children learn with enjoyment and challenge." (EYFS)

We develop children to:

  • Be confident and independent

  • Task risks

  • Make and learn from mistakes

  • Communicate effectively with others

  • Imagine and recreate roles and experiences

The 7 Areas of Learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage is split into 7 areas of learning.

The 3 Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

  • Mathematics - Number and Shape, Space and Measures

  • Literacy - Reading and Writing

© 2019 by William Morris Nursery School

  • The Blue Kite Academy Trust
  • William Morris Primary School
  • William Morris Primary School